Aboriginal for “Ashes”, Minyip had its early origins as part of a squatter’s “run” until the township was established in the early 1870’s and the sale of town blocks in 1875 attracted ex-miners and many South Australian farmers to the district.
The town flourished as a service centre for this productive wheat growing district and after a century of steady growth, was “re-discovered” by Crawford Productions in 1984 as the town to be featured as “Coopers Crossing” in the long running television series “The Flying Doctors”. Production ceased in 1989 but visitors from around the world still come to enjoy a stroll down memory lane. Minyip is also known for its many picturesque sunsets, a feature often used during Crawford’s filming days in the town.
- Bushland Reserve contains a 700m and 2km walking track. The track also identifies a number of native plants and is a popular site for bird watching.
- Caravan park & Wetlands is a five hectare site located on the edge of town and is complete with native trees and shrubs, construction of a number of picturesque walking tracks, complete with outdoor fitness equipment, playground, plus the provision of BBQ and picnic facilities, fire pit, a modern amenities
block and powered camping sites. Pets welcome.
- Cemetery is located to the east of town and reflects the strong German influence early in Minyip’s
establishment and holds great interest for those interested in genealogy and history.
- Farrer Monument, believed to be the only monument of its kind in Australia to William Farrer, the ‘Father of the Australian Wheat Industry”.
- Main Street features many of the buildings such as the Royal Flying Doctor Service Base, Emma’s Garage, Coopers Crossing Memorial Hall and the Club Hotel. All featured prominently in many episodes.
- Minyip/Rupanyup Community Bank was the first enterprise of its kind in Australia. The profits are shared between the Bendigo Bank and Minyip and Rupanyup communities.
- Saddler's Second Chance Pre Loved Goods is a haven for bargain hunters. Check them out on Facebook for opening times
- The Minyip Show & Shine is held on the last Sunday in February. Follow the Show & Shine Facebook page for details.
- St Johns’ Lutheran Church was classified by the National Trust in 1974. The church features a striking octagonal belfry and houses a magnificent Fuller pipe organ.